Ethiopia appoints three ministers, commissioner, attorney general

The Ethiopian parliament today approved appointment of three ministers, attorney general and commissioner for the Federal Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission. Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed also appointed female boss for the Metal Engineering Corporation (METEC).

Out of the five new appointments three are female. Dr. Liya Tadesse is appointed to serve as Minister of Health of Ethiopia, while the current Minister of Ethiopian Revenue is transferred to serve as Federal Attorney General. The new attorney general will replace Mr. General Birhanu Tsegaye, whose new post is not yet known.

Mr. Lake Ayalew is now appointed by Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed to serve as Minister of Revenue of Ethiopia. The parliament has also approved appointment of Mrs. Filson Abdollahi as Minister of Women, Children and Youth. In addition, Mr. Tsega Arage is also appointed to serve as Commissioner of Federal Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission.

In a related development the Office of Prime Minister has twitted this afternoon the appointment of Mrs. Hiwot Mossisa to serve as Director General of metal Engineering Corporation (METEC) the company owned by Ethiopian defense. Prime Minister Abiy has also appointed Major General Ahmed Hamza to serve as Director General for Defense Engineering Industry Corporation.