Ethiopia approves new charity law, Reconciliation Commission members

Ethiopia approves new charity law, Reconciliation Commission members

Ethiopian Parliament on Thursday approves a new civil society law and members of national Reconciliation Commission as well as Administrative Boundary and Identity Issues Commission.

The new charity law is expected to address the challenges of organization engaged in civil society, mainly those involved in advocacy, among others. While the Reconciliation Commission is expected to work towards restoration of peace and stability across the nation.

The 41 members of Reconciliation Commission includes religious figures from different sects as well as politicians like former Ethiopian Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn.

The members includes, from Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church – Abune Abrham, from Ethiopian Catholic Church – Cardinal Berhaneyesus Demerew, from Islamic Affairs Supreme Council – Haji Umer Edris, Ustaz Ahmedin Jebel – from young Islamic scholars and from Ethiopian Evangelical Church – Dr Bete Mengistu.

It also includes, Pastor Tesfaye Gabiso – from Ethiopian Evangelical Church, Tamiru Lega- from young Orthodox scholars. The team also includes: Dr Mihret Debebe – psychiatrist, Megabi Hadis Eshetu Alemayehu, World Laureate Dr Tibebe Yemane Berhan – Health practitioner and dignitary, Prof. Beyene Petros – Academician, Dr Abera Deresa and Dr Ubah Adem – academicians, Prof. Hizkias Asseffa – peacemaker, and Prof. Asefa Hailemariam – from Addis Ababa University.

The team also includes, Dr Dereje Gerefa- Health specialist, Artist Debebe Eshetu, Dr Muse Yakob – author, Ms Blen Sahlu ad Tamirat Kidanemariam – lawyers, Abbaa Gedaa Gobena Holla, Leuel Ras Mengesha Seyoum, Darrota Dejamo and Kao Demise – elders, Dr Bogalech Gebre – philanthropist and Abate Kisho – from elders of Sidama people

It also involved politicians like Dr Berhanu Nega and Eng. Gidey Zeratsion as well as Ayalneh Mulatu – author, Athlete Derartu Tulu – from Ethiopian Athletics Federation, Prof. Ahmed Zekaria – academic, Colonel Goshu Wolde – From prominent persons, Sultan Hanfre Alimirah – from elders of Afar people, Athlete Gebregziabher Gebremariam, Leul Bedemariam Mekonnen – from prominent persons, Ms Tirhas Mezgebe – From charity organizations, Dr. Belay Abegaz – health professional, Dr Zeresenay Alemseged – Anthropologist, Dr Solomon Ayele – From AU Peace and Security, and Ms Yetnebersh Nuguse – from among the people with disabilities.

In a related development, the parliament approved members of the newly established Administrative Boundary and Identity Issues Commission.

The Administrative Boundary and Identity Issues Commission aims to study the root causes of the conflicts in different parts of the country often related to boundaries and administrative issues.

The Commission is expected to bring recommendations to the House of Federation and the parliament. The members of the Administrative Boundaries and Identity Issues Commission were appointed with majority vote while 22 voted against and 4 abstained.

The members of Administrative Boundary and Identity Issues Commission includes religeous leaders, artists and opposition figures. The 41 members Ethiopia’s Reconciliation Commission and Administrative Boundary and Identity Issues Commission includes: former presidents of Ethiopia Dr. Negaso Gidada and Dr. Mulatu Teshome, Dr. Obang Metho – human rights activist, Dr Yakob Arsano – from Addis Ababa University, Meaza Biru – journalist, and Abdulbazit Mindada – former member of parliament.

The members also includes, Ustaz Abubeker Ahmed – Deputy Chairperson of Ethiopian Muslims Joint Committee, Dr Ashebir Woldegiorgis – from Addis Ababa University, Dr Dawit Mekonnen – from Addis Ababa University, Prof. Tilahun Engida – from Addis Ababa University; Bayou Bezabih – former MP, Dr Tasew Gebre – former President of Wachamo University and Ambassador Shemsedin Ahmed who is diplomat.

The other members of Reconciliation Commission and Administrative Boundary and Identity Issues Commission are: Dr Mesfin Araya – Health professional at Black Lion Hospital, from prominent personalities Gudeta Gelelcha, Zegeye Asfaw and Abdurhaman Mohamed, Ms Amarech Agidew – Counsellor, Prof. Wolde-Amlak Bewketu, Prof. Bekele Gutema and Prof. Fisehatsion Mengistu – from Addis Ababa University, Ms Rahel Mekuria – first radio journalist, Dr Demeke Acheso and Prof. Kassahun Berhanu – from Addis Ababa University.

The team also involves senior politicians such as Dr Aregawi Berhe, Lencho Leta, Prof. Gebru Tareke, Prof. Merera Gudina, Andargachew Tsige, Dr Yakob Hailemariam, Belete Mola, Yeshiwas Asefa and Abebe Eshetu.

Dr Bekele Bulado – former Minister of Trade, Dr Paulos Lika ad Berhanu Tesfaye – health professionals, Dr Abera Degefu – university lecturer, Wubshet Mulat- lawyer, Ms Worknesh Daba – humanitarian, Yonas Zewdie – youth, and Dr. Belay Demissie – scholar are also included.